Secretary - Joan Matera

Joan was born and raised in Aurora, Colorado. She attended Colorado State University where she graduated in 1974 with a degree in Food Science and Nutrition. She moved to Dallas to complete her dietetic internship through The University of Texas Health Science Center at Parkland Hospital.  As a Registered Dietitian she has spent the last 41 years working in various positions in Child Nutrition. She worked for several school districts in Texas, California and New Jersey as School Food Service Director. Her responsibilities included budgeting, purchasing, menu planning according to government requirements marketing, menu merchandising, employee management and customer relations.

She has been active in such professional organizations as the American Dietetic Association, School Nutrition Association as well as various State school food service organizations.

Joan met her husband Jeff while in Dallas. They have been married 42 years and have 2 children. They moved to Horseshoe Bay in 2010 so that Jeff could return to his Texas roots. Joan is currently employed by Johnson City ISD as Child Nutrition Director. She is planning to retire in June. She desires to get involved with the community. She and Jeff have thoroughly enjoyed living in Horseshoe Bay. She is looking forward to giving back to the community through the position with the POA. This is an excellent opportunity to maintain and grow the wonderful lifestyle present in the Hill Country.

 
President -  Mike Maine      mikem@hsbpoa.org 
Vice President - Frank Hosea   frank@hsbpoa.org
Secretary - Joan Matera           joan@hsbpoa.org 
Treasurer - Bruce Baccus         bruce@hsbpoa.org
Director - Mike Thuss              miket@hsbpoa.org
Director -  Randy Rives         randy@hsbpoa.org
Director-  Dana Rushing             dana@hsbpoa.org